intermediate senior history

we make learning about the economy fun, with resources available to suit your curriculum. find resources by grade or type—and be sure to read our education blog.

this site contains all of the questions which appeared on the begbie contests from 1994 to 2013. it also includes a description of the historical method, a collection of useful and interesting primary sources, and more than a hundred suggestions for using primary sources in the classroom.

explore various aspects of the country’s black history, including enslavement, migration and settlement, anti-black racism, the civil rights movement, black canadian achievement and present-day experiences.

search teaching resources by grade or theme. the importance of understanding ourselves by examining our history has been an anchoring belief of canada’s history society. established in 1994 through the generous support of the hudson’s bay company history foundation, we bring relevance and awareness to our nation’s diverse past, illuminating the people, places, and events that unite us as canadians.

funded by the canadian culture online program of the federal department of canadian heritage. statistics canada is committed to developing a heritage website that presents digitized historical versions of the canada year book from 1867 to 1967. a total of 159 books have been digitized—72 in french and 87 in english. these digitized editions will link to a series of customized lesson plans for teachers. the lesson plans were created to support curriculum in history and social studies. they have been designed to help 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 use the historical information of the canada year book historical collection to bring the canada of the past to life. the lessons also encourage 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 to develop critical thinking skills and to research and explore primary source documents.

includes education guides, curriculum topics, quizzes, primary sources, and interactive resources.

an online archive of the canadian war experience, from any war, home front and battlefront, as told through the letters and images of canadians themselves. begun in august 2000, the project is located in the department of history at vancouver island university. through the digitization of contemporary letters, diaries, photographs, and other related materials, the project permits canadians to tell their story, and canada’s story, through their own words and images. it is history without a lens of interpretation by the present.

we are collecting the best human rights education resources for your classroom and sharing them in one, easy‐to‐navigate space.

with roots stretching back to 1856, it is one of canada’s oldest public institutions and a respected centre of museological excellence, sharing its expertise in history, archaeology, ethnology and cultural studies both within canada and abroad. includes online exhibitions, web modules, games and other activities to support teaching and learning across your curriculum.

the canadian war museum is canada’s national museum of military history and one of the world’s most respected museums for the study and understanding of armed conflict. includes online resources, virtual school programs, and other activities to support teaching and learning across your curriculum.

the holdings of the print collection in the rare books and special collections division include some 250 canadian posters from the two world wars. the posters are accessible to researchers who visit the division's lande reading room; a printed finding aid is available from the reading room supervisor. this website contains basic descriptions and images of each poster, an artist index, a search facility, and an essay about canadian war posters. the search facility enables you to search by world war, by category, by artist, or by keyword. the results of your search are displayed as thumbnail images. click on a thumbnail to obtain a larger image and a full description. each description includes the following information: the poster id number and title or lead text; the date, artist, and publisher, when known; size, and appropriate notes.

this section provides educational material geared toward 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 in grades 6 through 12. you will find ideas for incorporating cbc's radio and tv archives into your classroom along with lesson plans and activity sheets, which you can download. all our materials are provided at no charge.

census at school is an international classroom project designed to engage 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 aged 8 to 18 in statistical reasoning, using data collected about themselves and about participating 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 from around the world.

over 200 classroom resources available. some classroom resources are short lesson plans and student handouts, while others are in-depth multi-module resources on a specific area of law. all ojen classroom resources are linked to the curriculum and available for free download in english or french.

online collections and publications of teaching instructions, source materials and professional resources

resources and tools for learning, teaching, and engaging about federal elections and democracy. some useful resources on this site include: a history of the vote; voting rights through time; and civic action: then and now.

your ringside seat to history - from the ancient world to the present. history through the eyes of those who lived it, presented by ibis communications, inc. a digital publisher of educational programming.

facing history and ourselves uses lessons of history to challenge teachers and their 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 to stand up to bigotry and hate.

the lest we forget project provides an opportunity for 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 to conduct primary research, encouraging their skills in writing essays and in using the computer to access historical documents and databases. 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 are tasked with researching and writing about individuals who served in the first and second world wars.

learn about canada's culture, identity, history and sports.

the "great unsolved mysteries in canadian history" project provides engaging, high-quality materials to schools and universities for the teaching of historical methods and canadian history. the franklin expedition resources includes historical and current inuit perspectives.

the heritage minutes are a collection of bilingual canadian 60-second short films, each depicting a significant person, event or story in canadian history. first released in 1991, they have been shown on television, in cinemas and online, and have become a part of canadian culture.

the historical thinking framework promoted by the historical thinking project revolves around six historical thinking concepts: historical significance, cause and consequence, historical perspective-taking, continuity and change, the use of primary source evidence, and the ethical dimension of history. these concepts have been integrated into the curriculum guidelines in a number of provinces and territories across canada.

the historical thinking project was designed to foster a new approach to history education — with the potential to shift how teachers teach and how 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 learn, in line with recent international research on history learning. it revolves around the proposition that historical thinking — like scientific thinking in science instruction and mathematical thinking in math instruction — is central to history instruction and that 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 should become more competent as historical thinkers as they progress through their schooling. the project developed a framework of six historical thinking concepts to provide a way of communicating complex ideas to a broad and varied audience of potential users.

offers resources for educators, including education guides, learning tools, and links to educational content.

a fascinating account of the struggles and reforms that have shaped canada's electoral system from pre-confederation times to the present day.

established by the azrieli foundation in 2005 to collect, preserve and share the memoirs and diaries written by survivors of the holocaust who came to canada. includes educational materials.

a digital space for teachers and 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 to engage with the history of hbc.

teaching tolerance provides free resources to educators—teachers, administrators, counselors and other practitioners—who work with children from kindergarten through high school. educators use our materials to supplement the curriculum, to inform their practices, and to create civil and inclusive school communities where children are respected, valued and welcome participants.

home to one of the world’s most comprehensive collections of digital and media literacy resources.

an initiative of historica canada, the memory project is a volunteer speakers bureau that arranges for veterans and canadian forces members to share their stories of military service at school and community events across the country. our speakers have reached 3 million canadians since 2001.

explore these collections of activities that have been curated for educators, parents, and caregivers to implement with k–12 learners.

for many years, netflix has allowed teachers to screen documentaries in their classrooms: https://help.netflix.com/en/node/57695 however, this isn’t possible with schools closed. so at their request, we have made a selection of our documentary features and series available on our youtube channel.

a public digital library of open educational resources. search the open educational resources (oer) commons for carefully selected, free, lesson plans that you can be modified to align with the ontario curriculum.

interested in learning with primary sources, but don’t know where to start? the archives of ontario provides a range of resources and lesson kits appropriate for 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 from grades 3 to 12, as well as online exhibits that feature primary source material from our extensive collections. all our resource and lesson kits align with the ontario curriculum and emphasize the skills of critical literacy, historical inquiry, interpretation, and analysis.

this site contains a curated collection of resources selected by ontario educators for ontario educators. this site includes difficult to find ontario ministry of education professional development resources. all of the documents are shared with permission.

composed of teachers and educators from public and catholic school boards, private institutions and faculties of education. we have members from different regions in the province. our goal is to support educators who teach social studies (grades 1-6) and geography and history (grades 7&8).

a volunteer organization of practicing history and social science teachers in ontario’s elementary and secondary schools.

teach about the parliament of canada with resources such as ebooklets, glossaries, trivia, videos, photos, and fact sheets.

you can explore and make your own discoveries! travel back in time over a thousand years and meet people who explored the many regions of canada. some of their adventures will amaze you, others you may find revolting, and some you may not believe!

the senate of canada’s youth outreach program. through sengage, young people from across the country have the opportunity to connect with senators and learn more about the work they do, the role of the senate in our democracy, and how senators provide leadership on important issues. sengage takes requests from schools, colleges, universities and youth-serving organizations that wish to have a senator address their group. sengage is your point of contact throughout the process and can supply additional educational resources to ensure your group is well-prepared for the experience.

then/hier is the first pan-canadian organization devoted to promoting—and improving—history teaching and learning by bringing together the multiple and varied constituencies involved in history education.

a comprehensive resource for k - 12 history teachers.

that’s not fair! is a series developed by the canadian civil liberties education trust to invite kids, ages 7 to 11, to think critically about what it means to live in a democracy.

introducing interactive ways educators, parents and 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 can connect to the ontario k-12 curriculum.

tvo learn is an effective way to help your child explore learning that aligns with the ontario curriculum, from kindergarten to grade 12.

resources, lesson plans, and activities for the classroom.

a web-based educational program for teaching and learning canadian history, in both official languages, developed by a scholarly team at the faculty of education, the university of ottawa. designed with advanced technology in computer programming and reality-like imaging, the virtual historiantm places learners in the virtual environment of authentic historical investigations of key events and issues in canadian history, such as the halifax explosion (1917), the person's case (1929), the dieppe raid (1942), and the october crisis (1970).

a collection of links to websites with world history lesson plans and resources.