librarian
trudy russo
contact:
consultations are normally held over zoom software, but arrangements can be made for an in person meeting on the 5th floor of the library in room li 5007. if in-person is necessary, please contact me directly via email. trusso@lakeheadu.ca
thank you.
thank you.
key article databases
- proquest search (searches multiple proquest databases at the same time)includes over 20 databases in a variety of subjects including business, nursing, psychology, sociology, education, political science, etc.
includes social services abstracts, sociological abstracts, and applied social sciences index & abstracts. - ebsco databases (searches multiple databases at the same time)includes access to all of our ebsco databases including: america: history & life with full text, bibliography of native north americans, cinahl, education source, eric, historical abstracts with full text etc.
- sociological abstracts this link opens in a new windowinternational literature in sociology index coverage: 1952- and full text coverage varies.
- sociology database (formerly proquest sociology) this link opens in a new windowcovers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. this collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles indexed in sociological abstracts and social services abstracts. as well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.
- web of science this link opens in a new window
multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. includes index to dissertations and theses and conference proceedings and cited reference searching. coverage: 1975-
- psycinfo this link opens in a new windowincludes references to periodicals, books, monographs, reports, dissertations, and other materials from world literature on psychology and the behavioral sciences. coverage: 1806 -
- social services abstracts this link opens in a new windowcovers current research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, community development and related areas. coverage: 1979-
- jstor this link opens in a new windowfull-text multidisciplinary archive of journal articles. includes over 500 open access e-books.
- scholars portal journalsa digital repository of over 40 million scholarly articles covering every academic discipline.
- canada commonscanada commons, (formerly canadian electronic library) includes e-books and canadian public policy papers from government, ngos (non governmental organizations such as non-profit organizations independent of government funding), and think tanks. topics inlclude: indigenous peoples, climate change, human rights, health, economics etc.