- library
- research guides
- open access: faculty guide to open educational resources - oer
- oer - open educational resources
open access: faculty guide to open educational resources - oer
- oer - open educational resources
- why adopt an open textbook
- finding open textbooks
- using library resources
- evaluating oer
- understanding licenses
give us your feedback!
do you have any open educational resources to suggest?
related guides
what is oer?
the use of open educational resources (oer) is gaining momentum in education and academic libraries.
oers are intended to help institutions address rising costs in higher education, especially in the area of textbooks, while giving faculty the ability to adopt, adapt or create educational resources that can be customized to meet the learning objectives of the courses they teach.
this guide is intended to help introduce faculty to the concept of oer, provide resources, and relevant articles.
what is oer?
open educational resources are teaching, learning or research materials that are in the public domain or released with an intellectual property license that allows for free use, adaptation, and distribution.*
*open educational resources | united nations educational, scientific and cultural organization. (n.d.). retrieved november 22, 2018, from http://wayback.archive-it.org/10611/20160808074527/http://www.unesco.org/new/en/communication-and-information/access-to-knowledge/open-educational-resources//
finding oer
- ecampus open textbook libraryecampusontario and bccampus have partnered to build an open textbook library website that allows 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 and faculty to browse, view, and download free open textbooks for use in their courses. the ecampusontario open textbook library provides digital access for all ontarians to over 180 open textbooks created by a variety of contributors.
- bc open campuslists open textbooks in a number of subject areas, many of which are included in ontario’s own ecampus open textbook library. it also includes a directory of other open textbook sites and a guide to using open textbooks
- hippocampus.orghippocampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , free of charge. teachers project hippocampus content during classroom learning and assign it for computer labs and homework. 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 use the site in the evenings for study and exam prep. users do not need to register or log in to use the site.
- libretextsthe libretexts mission is to unite 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (oer) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 and society.
- openstax textbooksprovides open textbooks that are peer-reviewed by educators, and can be reused and remixed to align with general course requirements.
- open suny textbookthe open suny textbook - opens in a new window - textbooks are available for anyone to access, download, and reuse under the terms of open licenses.
- open textbook libraryprovides access to high-quality open textbooks. repository maintained by the the open education network which is based in the center for open education in the university of minnesota’s college of education and human development.
- oasisopenly available sources integrated search (oasis) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. oasis currently searches open content from 113 different sources and contains 440,176 records.
- ecampusontario open libraryecampusontario provides access to tools to help facilitate the easy creation or adaptation of open educational resources. these tools are available at no cost to anyone currently affiliated with an ecampusontario member institution. members also have access to dedicated technical and oer creation support for these platforms.
- doab: directory of open access books"the primary aim of doab is to increase discoverability of open access books. academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their open access books to doab. metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 to discover the books. the directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in open access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in open access and meet academic standards." from website.
- edutopia's oer round-upedutopia, a clearing house of education news for k-12 teachers, recently updated their "open educational resources (oer) resource roundup". this is a fabulous starting point for finding ideas for you lessons that other teachers or associations have agreed to share.
- gcsharegcshare is a content sharing and discovery platform for open educational resources (oers) initiated by the government of canada.
- merlot iimerlot is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
- oer commonsoer commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. search the open educational resources (oer) commons for carefully selected, free, lesson plans that you can be modified to align with the ontario k-12 curriculum.
- openeda collection of videos, games, assessments, and lesson ideas, selected to meet the u.s. common core standards, but easily integrated into many expectations of our ontario curriculum because you can search by grade, subject, and strand.
- project gutenbergproject gutenberg offers over 58,000 free ebooks. choose among free epub and kindle ebooks, download them or read them online. you will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which u.s. copyright has expired. thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the ebooks, for enjoyment and education.
- sol*rsol*r is a repository service provided by bccampus that allows educators to access free online learning resources. it facilitates sharing, discovery, reuse, and remixing of a growing collection of content created by bc post-secondary educators. sol*r includes learning resources from a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. resources range from open textbooks, individual learning activities and tools, all the way to full programs.
images:
creative commons search offers a search tool to locate images that you can share, use and remix.
wikimedia commons a database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
free images free images is a high-quality resource of digital stock photography for use by all. all images in our collection are free to use on websites, printed materials and anywhere you need photos for illustration and design use.
google advanced image search use the advanced image search to limit to free-to-use images. under usage rights, use the drop-down menu to select free to use or share.
shared shelf commons a free, open-access library of images. search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images.
unsplash all photos published on unsplash can be used for free. you can use them for commercial and noncommercial purposes. you do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible.
videvo includes video clips, music and sound effects. includes both free and premium content.
music:
youtube audio library browse and download free music for your project.
open music library the open music library is an initiative from alexander street to build the world’s largest free index of digital resources for the study of music.
free music archive offers free downloads under creative commons and other licenses.
- university of british columbia’s open data collectiona repository of canadian geospatial datasets, with some local datasets for the lower mainland and ubc campus.
- open data canadagovernment of canada’s open data sets, covering demographic, financial, map data, and more.
- eu open data portala portal housing a variety of open data across eu policy domains, including the economy, employment, science, environment and education.
- ontario open governmentontario's open data catalogue of open data.
- data.govcomprises u.s. federal data with links to u.s. states, cities and counties with web sites that provide open data. note that non-federal data available through data.gov may have different licensing than open licensing.
- bozeman sciencepaul andersen has created hundreds of science videos that have been viewed millions of times by learners around the world. his video essentials for ap biology, ap chemistry, ap environmental science, and ap physics 1&2 are aligned to the ap curriculum. he also has created a series of videos on the next generation science standards.
- courseracoursera is an american massive open online course provider founded in 2012 by stanford university's computer science professors andrew ng and daphne koller that offers massive open online courses, specializations, degrees, professional and master-track courses.
- crash course"tons of awesome courses in one awesome channel! nicole sweeney teaches you sociology, carrie anne philbin teaches you computer science, craig benzine teaches film history, and mike rugnetta is teaching mythology! "
- edxedx is an american massive open online course provider created by harvard and mit. it hosts online university-level courses in a wide range of disciplines to a worldwide student body, including some courses at no charge. it also conducts research into learning based on how people use its platform.
- futurelearnfuturelearn is a british digital education platform founded in december 2012. the company is jointly owned by the open university and seek ltd. it is a massive open online course (mooc) learning platform, and as of june 2020 included 175 uk and international partners, including non-university partners.
- khan academykhan academy offers free practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
- mit open coursewarea project meant to openly license course materials and lectures for all undergraduate and graduate courses at mit.