cite your sources!
how do you cite your sources?
check out our zotero guide and the library's citation guide.
canadian, american and latin american history
- america: history and life with full text this link opens in a new windowcovering the history and culture of the united states and canada, from prehistory to the present. with selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
- canadiana online (formerly early canadiana online) this link opens in a new window
canadiana online identifies, catalogue, and digitizes documentary heritage—books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials.
monographs - spanning three and a half centuries of canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. with a projected 84,000 titles by completion, this resource is the most comprehensive full-text searchable set of historical monographs currently available for the study of canada.
serials - includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations. specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many men’s, women’s, student’s and children’s popular magazines
government publications - includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. this collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from france and great britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties.
canadiana online is projected to digitalize the entire cihm collection by the end of 2018. - european views of the americas: 1493-1750 this link opens in a new windowchronological guide to works printed in europe relating to the americas, 1493-1750. free database
- heritage (canadiana.ca) this link opens in a new windowthe héritage project is a 10-year initiative to digitize and make accessible online some of canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 60 million pages of primary-source documents. chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection represents a vast and unique resource for canadian historians, 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , and genealogists.
- peel's prairie provinces this link opens in a new windowhistory and culture of the canadian prairies. it is based on the peel's bibliography of the canadian prairies. good for primary sources
related databases
- bibliography of indigenous peoples in north america (formerly bibliography of native north americans) this link opens in a new windowbibliographic database covering all aspects of native north american culture, history, and life coverage: works published from the 16th century to the present.
- cairn this link opens in a new windowaccess to an index of french language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. (does not include full-text access)
- canadian business & current affairs database (cbca) this link opens in a new window
combines full text and indexed content from all four cbca database subsets (business, current events, education, and reference). subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of canadian sources anywhere. with over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles coverage: 1971 -
full text content 1985 – - ehraf world cultures this link opens in a new windowcollection of resource materials on selected cultures from all major areas of the world.
- heinonline - available through the faculty of law library this link opens in a new windowan online research product with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
includes coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals, congressional record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the u.s. reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the united nations and league of nations treaty series, all united states treaties, the federal register from inception in 1936, the cfr from inception in 1938, and much more.also includes:
*selden society publications and the history of early english law
*scottish legal history: featuring publications of the stair society
*air and space law
*john f. kennedy assassination collection
*executive privilege
*business and legal aspects of sports and entertainment (blasÉ) - historical abstracts with full text this link opens in a new windowprovides indexing of historical articles from more than 3,100 journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. in addition, this database provides access to the full text of more than 380 journals and 140 books.
- iportal - indigenous studies portal this link opens in a new windowthe indigenous studies portal (iportal) connects faculty, 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. it is an initiative of the university of saskatchewan library.
- jstor this link opens in a new windowfull-text multidisciplinary archive of journal articles. includes over 500 open access e-books.
- project muse this link opens in a new windowaccess to approx. 400 full-text academic journals in the humanities, fine arts, social sciences, mathematics and medicine.
selected journals for canadian history
accessibility
are you having difficulties reading a lot of articles? are your eyes tired?
did you know that you can have articles "read" to you?
any pdf document can be "read."
how do you do that?
1)locate your article in pdf format and open it. (see example of article here)
2)click on view at the top of the page and then click on read out loud
3)then click on activate read out loud
4)finally click on either read this page only or read to end of document