archives at lakehead

an umbrella organization for finnish male choruses in north america. the records relate to the organization’s administration, finances, and major events. an english-language description is available.

records created, held, and gathered by cairine budner during her association with the tbfchs and other local heritage and sports organizations. includes oral history interviews, and historical photographs and documents gathered from the community. currently being processed.

records of the canadan suomalainen järjestö [finnish organization of canada], vapaus publishing company (responsible for publishing vapaus and liekki and other publications), suomalais-canadalaisen amatoori urheiluliiton [finnish-canadian amateur sports federation], co-operatives, and more. includes meeting minutes, reports, financial statements, and correspondence. an english-language description is available.

the canadan teollisuusunionistinen kannatus liitto (canadian industrial union support circle) comprised of supporters of industrial unionism who formed associations in their own local communities. the records include minutes, correspondence, financial records, and publications, including for the following organizations: finnish building company, hoito restaurant, one big union, ctkl, industrial workers of the world, lumber workers industrial union #120, and canadian news service. an english-language description is available.

records of the canadan uutiset, a finnish-language newspaper based in port arthur/thunder bay from 1915 to 2000. the records include correspondence and circulation information. inventoried, but further description is needed.

records and minute books of: hoito restaurant; port arthur workingmen’s association: imatra no. 9; c.t.k.l. (canadian industrial unions: port arthur’s finnish association); c.u.t. (canadian news service) and c.t.k.l.; finlandia club; finnish socialist local no. 6: port arthur; lumber workers’ industrial union of the one big union; new attempt temperance society; finnish athletic club: nahjus; finnish building company. inventoried, but further description is needed.

the finnish building company was formed in 1909 and raised funds for the construction of the finnish labour temple. requires further description.

photographs and videos shared by community members after the destruction of the finnish labour temple.

documents from the time capsule recovered from the finnish labour temple.

einar and hilma kajander were immigrants from finland, and were active in local organizations. these photographs depict the kajander family and their friends, in and about the port arthur area, approximately 1900 to 1970. the photographs include studio portraits and candid photographs printed at a variety of sizes. the images primarily depict family life and outdoor recreation.

records of an oral history project conducted with people who travelled to soviet karelia. includes approved and unapproved transcripts, audio cassette recordings, agreements with researchers, and related documentation.

records of family relationships in a finnish-canadian family in the mid-20th-century.

a vast and varied collection of records documenting the experiences of finnish immigrants to northwestern ontario. includes correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, interviews, published material, and ephemera. the photograph collection is extensive and covers a wide range of subjects. an english-language finding aid is available.

internet sites and social media related to thunder bay's finnish and finnish-canadian community.

records of rev. toivo pajala, minister of saalem pentecostal church from 1949-1963. he was also known for supporting recent immigrants in the region, and establishing finnish-language religious radio programming on ckpr.