reference sources
ereference books
online reference sources
- canadian life sciences databasea comprehensive directory of life sciences and biotechnology companies and institutes in canada.
- chemspidera free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 30 million structures. *maintained by the royal society of chemistry
- protein data bankan information portal to biological macromolecular structures
find journal articles
key article databases
- web of science this link opens in a new window
multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. includes index to dissertations and theses and conference proceedings and cited reference searching. coverage: 1975-
- sciencedirect this link opens in a new windowincludes over 1800 full-text journals. subjects covered include: biology, business, chemistry, medicine, nursing, physics etc.
- springerlink journals this link opens in a new windowincludes over 1500 full-text journals. subjects covered include: biology, chemistry, medicine, mathematics, physics etc.
- biomed centralresearch articles in all journals published by biomed central are 'open access'. they are immediately and permanently available online without charge. a number of journals require an institutional or a personal subscription to view other content, such as reviews or paper reports. free trial subscriptions to these journals are available.
other databases and online journals
- abi/inform global this link opens in a new window
abi/inform global contains the full text of thousands of business journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals. coverage: 1923- selected full-text coverage going back to the 19th century.
title list (in excel)
- pubmed this link opens in a new windowcovers over 3,000 of the world’s leading biomedical journals and periodicals, providing bibliographic citations and authors’ abstracts relating to all aspects of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. coverage: 1947-
- biorxivbiorxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. it is operated by cold spring harbor laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. by posting preprints on biorxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts.
- bio-protocol"bio-protocol (issn: 2331-8325) is an e-journal founded in 2010 by a group of stanford researchers. our mission is to make life-science research more efficient and reproducible by curating and hosting high quality, open-access, life science protocols.
- bmc research notes"bmc [biomed central] research notes is an open access journal publishing scientifically sound research across all fields of biology and medicine, enabling authors to publish updates to previous research, software tools and databases, data sets, small-scale clinical studies, and reports of confirmatory or 'negative' results. additionally the journal welcomes descriptions of incremental improvements to methods as well as short correspondence items and hypotheses."
data sources
medical data
- chembl"chembl is a database of bioactive drug-like small molecules, it contains 2-d structures, calculated properties (e.g. logp, molecular weight, lipinski parameters, etc.) and abstracted bioactivities (e.g. binding constants, pharmacology and admet data).
patents and standards
patent basics
- a guide to patents. canadian intellectual property officethe canadian intellectual property office site, has basic information about patents, the patent process and contact information for the canada client services centre. intellectual property search information officers at cipo can answer basic questions on patents and provide general guidance with intellectual property resources.
canadian patents cover
"new inventions (process, machine, manufacture, composition of matter) or any new and usefull improvement of an existing invention.
to qualify for a canadian patent, an invention must show novelty, utility and ingenuity
novelty - the item or process must be the first of it's kind in the world
utility - must work
ingenuity - must be a development or improvement that would not have been obvious to workers of average skill in the technology involved'
source: a guide to patents. canadian intellectual property office
general information about patents
patent databases
- canadian patents databasecanadian patent records from 1869 to present; full-text documents from 1920-.
- uspto browseable indexbrowseable index to the us patent classification system
- world international property organization (wipo) patentscopethe world international patent office does not issue patents, but allows inventors to apply for patent protection simultaneously in many countries as dictated by the patent co-operation treaty. the patentscope database is an interface to search international patent applications from 1978 to present.
- european patent office - espacenetpublication coverage: 1836 - present
- google patents this link opens in a new windowgoogle patents includes patent applications and grants from the uspto, epo, jpo, sipo, wipo, dpma, and cipo. patents without english full text are machine-translated to english, so you can search foreign patent documents using only english keywords.
standards
- astm (compass) standards this link opens in a new windowcontains full-text active standards. these standards are used internationally by scientists, engineers, architects for research and develoment, product testing etc.
structure searching in surechem
what are standards and patents?
patents - a certificate of grant by a government of an exclusive right with respect to an invention for a limited period of time. also known as letters patent. (from accessscience, ©mcgraw-hil)
standards - an authoritative or recognized exemplar of correctness, perfection, or some definite degree of any quality. (from oed)
how can they help you?
patents protect the rights of the inventor of an item, but can also be searched to determine viable areas for research.
standards are used by scientists and engineers, architects and designers to create, invent and build in a stable and safe environment
google patents
standards listed online
many agencies produce and charge for existing standards. sites listed below may provide lists for applicable standards available for purchase and are posted here for reference purposes.
- canadian standards associationstandards developed for canadian business, industry government and consumers.
- american national standards institutevoluntary standards.
- american petroleum institutestandards and recommendations for industrial production, certifacation for storage and pipe inspection in the petroleum industry.
- american concrete institutestandards for us structural steel design and the construction industry.
patent research and trends
- trilateral patent statisticsstatistical reports from the european, us and japanese patent offices
- wipo statistics on patentsincludes patent data by country
best practices from chemistry patent searching experts
not for the faint of heart! searching chemistry patent information poses specific challenges due to our ability to describe in words, what is represented by chemical notations, molecular structures etc. the intellogist blog hosts a number of solutions for patent searching in chemistry. note: access to commercial databases referenced here is limited.