education librarian
welcome anishinaabemowik-indigenous languages program 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 and instructors!
in this guide you will find a selection of print and online materials for teaching and learning algonquian languages with an emphasis on ojibwe (anishinaabemowin) and cree (ininmowin) as well as michif language resources. these materials as well as other indigenous language materials are available at lakehead libraries both in thunder bay and on the orillia campus.
anishinaabemowik - indigenous languages program historical documents digital archive
this digital archive collection includes program documents, including newsletters; faculty, staff and student handbooks; yearbooks, and teaching materials. as additional materials are located, they will be added to this digital collection.
this collection can be accessed at https://digitalcollections.lakeheadu.ca/exhibits/show/anishinaabemowik/nlip
newly added language resources
ojibwemowin field school workbook (introductory and intermediate) by introduction to anishinaabe-ojibwe history -- part one: introduction to ojibwemowin -- part two: intermediate ojibwemowin -- part three: puzzles, crosswords, word searches, mix and match -- part four: answer keys.word racing: games to play at language camps by
"word racing: games to play at language camps is a book for a teacher or learner of any language with activities at beginner, intermediate and advanced levels. make learning fun and effective."--publisher's website.ojibwe thesaurus first edition by
this book is intended for fluent ojibwe language writers, translators & advanced learners. it’s not a dictionary. it contains synonyms and related words to help you find that elusive word when you’re writing or translating as well as advance your literacy using the double vowel system. it uses western ojibwe and manitoba dialects.bi-anishinaabemog. bezhig niigaan. level one by
audio disc enclosed in back cover pocket.
"this workbook is created to assist in learning the basic words, terms and sentences of the ojibwe language also known as anishinaabemowin. it will be using the standardized orthography (writing system) known as the double-vowel system."--introduction. includes text in english and ojibwa.
indigenous focused publishers
- gabriel dumont institute: shop gdigdi is a saskatchewan-based educational, employment and cultural institute serving métis across the province.
- goodminds.comgoodminds.com is a first nations family owned business, who is passionate about indigenous education. browse our store for all your first nations, metis, inuit and native american educational resources and products.
- highwater presshighwater press, an imprint of portage & main press, publishes award-winning stories by emerging and established indigenous writers. our catalogue includes national bestsellers, celebrated modern classics, and genre-defying works. these are stories with lasting impact.
- inhabit mediainhabit media inc. is the first inuit-owned, independent publishing company in the canadian arctic. we aim to promote and preserve the stories, knowledge, and talent of the arctic, while also supporting research in inuit mythology and the traditional inuit knowledge of nunavummiut (residents of nunavut, canada’s northernmost territory). our authors, storytellers, and artists bring traditional knowledge to life in a way that is accessible to readers both familiar and unfamiliar with inuit culture and traditions.
- kwayaciiwin education resource centrethis website provides support services to the 24 first nations of the sioux lookout district. it provides links to curriculum guidelines based on culture and values. it also includes curriculum resources and other teaching resources.
- mazinaate incorporatedmazinaate has been publishing indigenous language books and resources since 1998. our goal is to provide superior language learning books and resources to encourage language learners to pursue the beauty and culture of indigenous communities.
- ojibway and cree cultural centrethe ojibway and cree cultural centre is a non-profit organization that was established in 1975 under the direction of grand council treaty #9, now known as the nishnawbe aski nation (nan). the centre is funded through indian and northern affairs canada (inac) cultural education centres program. the centre is managed by a board of directors who represent each tribal council area of the nan territory.
- pemmican publicationspemmican publications is a book publisher with a mandate to promote metis authors, illustrators and stories. it is a not-for-profit company that operates as an arm’s-length affiliate of the manitoba metis federation. pemmican publishes on average five to six new titles per year, with titles ranging from cultural studies and autobiographies to illustrated titles for children.