- library
- research guides
- indigenous education k-12
- indigenous children's stories by topic
indigenous education k-12
how to find indigenous children's books (print and ebooks)
use omni to find both print and ebooks:
there is an extensive collection of print indigenous children's literature at both the education library (thunder bay) and the education library (orillia). you can locate these titles through omni using title keywords, author names or with these subject headings. some children's books are also available as ebooks. you can also find ebooks with omni by applying the filter "available online" to your search results:
use these subject headings in "advanced search":
native peoples - canada - juvenile fiction
children's stories, ojibway
indians of north america - juvenile literature ( use this subject heading to find informational, non-fiction books)
indians of north america - juvenile fiction (use this subject heading to find picture books, young adult titles, graphic novels)
indians of north america -- canada -- residential schools
children's ebook databases:
through the library you have access to several children's ebook databases.
for example, go to tumblebook library and search for children's books in this database using the "tumblesearch" option on the top left. "not my girl" and "when i was eight" are two stories available in this database.
booklists/websites:
these lists can help you to identify indigenous children's books. find a title and check omni for availability through the libraries:
- from sea to sea: celebrating indigenous children's literature (ibby the international board on books for young
people) - aboriginal children's books: 17 stories to teach kids about indigenous heritage
evaluating indigenous children's stories:
- visit debbie reese's blog "american indians in children's literature" for a critical analysis of indigenous peoples' in children and young adult literature.
in the boxes below you will find a selection of children's books by topic:
indigenous children's stories by topic
the circle of caring and sharing by when two foxes, who are best friends, have a fight it upsets the whole community of animals. kokom the owl knows just what to do and brings together all the animals and holds a sharing circle
fiddle dancer by "while spending time with his grandfather nolin discovers his métis heritage and the importance that elders have as role models. he conquers a childs apprehension at learning new things and forms a special bond with his grandparents."--publisher's description.
jingle dancer by the affirming story of how a contemporary native american girl turns to her family and community to help her dance find a voice. jenna loves the tradition of jingle dancing that has been shared by generations of women in her family, and she hopes to dance at the next powwow. but she has a problem--how will her dress sing if it has no jingles? the cone-shaped jingles sewn to grandma wolfe's dress sing tink, tink, tink, tink. jenna's heart beats to the brum, brum, brum, brum of the powwow drum as she daydreams about the clinking song of her grandma's jingle dancing. the warm, evocative watercolors of cornelius van wright and ying-hwa hu complement author cynthia leitich smith's lyrical text in this picture book. perfect for classroom and library sharing.
mnoomin maan'gowing / the gift of mnoomin by in this bilingual book, an anishinaabe child explores the story of a precious mnoomin seed and the circle of life mnoomin sustains. written in anishinaabemowin and english, the story opens at harvest time. a child holds a mnoomin seed and imagines all the life that made a single seed possible--mayfly, pike, muskrat, eagle and moose, all had a part to play in bringing the seed into being. what will happen if the seed sprouts? underwater leaves will shelter young fish, shoots will protect ducklings, stalks will feed larvae, in turn providing food for bats...until finally mnoomin will be ready to harvest again. we follow the child and family through a harvest day as they make offerings of tobacco, then gently knock ripe seeds into their canoe. on shore, they prepare the seeds, cook up a feast, and gratefully plant some seeds they'd set aside. this beautifully written and illustrated story reveals the cultural and ecological importance of mnoomin. as the author's note explains, many anishinaabeg agree that "wild rice" is an inaccurate term for this plant relation, since part of the harvest is sown every year to help sustain human and non-human beings. includes a translator's note. key text features explanation illustrations informational note translations translator's note correlates to the common core state standards in english language arts: ccss.ela-literacy.rl.1.2 retell stories, including key details, and demonstrate understanding of their central message or lesson.
powwow's coming by powwow's coming, hear the beat? powwow's coming, dancing feet. powwow's coming, hear the drum? powwow's coming, everyone! frustrated as a schoolteacher not being able to find good instructional materials on american indians, linda boyden has bypassed the tired stereotype of indians on horseback or hunting game and placed them in today's setting of a powwow. powwow's coming provides children with a foundation for understanding and celebrating the enduring culture and heritage of american indians. boyden's exquisite cut-paper collage and engaging poem visually place readers within the scenes of a contemporary native american community while offering a thoughtful look at powwows and their meanings to the native participants.
the sharing circle by when two red foxes have an argument which breaks apart their community, a gentle buffalo decides to take a braid of sweetgrass to a local elder and asks her to help with a sharing circle for all the animals.
siha tooskin knows the best medicine by call number: available both in print and onlinewhen siha tooskin--paul wahasaypa--finds himself not feeling at all well he learns that there are answers for him from the healing practices of his own people and from western medicine. pay a hospital visit to paul as he learns more about where "modern medicine" really comes from and how we can all benefit from indigenous and western healers as paul seeks the best medicine for his own wellness. the siha tooskin knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old nakota boy.
siha tooskin knows the catcher of dreams by call number: available both in print and onlinea new baby due any day and a visit from his grandparents! siha tooskin (paul) takes his expert bike riding to a whole new level to make sure he doesn't miss a thing. at home, mugoshin (grandmother) is creating a very special gift to protect the precious little one. join paul as he enjoys delicious bannock, imagines the future of a new baby sister, and listens to mugoshin's teachings about the catcher of dreams. the siha tooskin knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old nakota boy.
siha tooskin knows the gifts of his people by transportation, housing, agriculture, communications...there are so many modern conveniences. but are they really modern? where did they really come from? paul wahasaypa--siha tooskin--will learn about their origins and more on his walk home from school with ade (his father). there's so much to learn about the earliest forms of technology, travel, medicine, and food from right here on turtle island. come along with paul and ade to hear all about the gifts of his people. the siha tooskin knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old nakota boy.
siha tooskin knows the love of the dance by call number: available both in print and onlinepaul wahasaypa--siha tooskin--has invited his friend, jeff, to a powwow. it's jeff's very first powwow, and is he ever nervous! what if he says or does the wrong thing? grass dancers, fancy shawl dancers, chicken dancers--what does it all mean? follow along as jeff learns all about the dances and their beautiful traditions. see you at the powwow! the siha tooskin knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old nakota boy.
siha tooskin knows the offering of tobacco by call number: available both in print and onlinepaul wahasaypa--siha tooskin--knows that whether we are taking berries or plants from the earth or knowledge from a learned person it is so important to offer a gift back to show honour and appreciation. join paul and his teacher mrs. baxter to find out what they discover about the protocol of offering the tobacco plant. the siha tooskin knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old nakota boy.
siha tooskin knows the sacred eagle feather by call number: available both in print and onlinepaul wahasaypa--siha tooskin--can find eagle feathers in ade's truck, on the dream catcher above his bed, on his uncle lenard's bustle, and in with the smudge bowls in all of his relatives' homes. paul already knows that the eagle is important because of the way that his family respects and cares for eagle feathers. now he's old enough for the teachings of where the feathers come from and why they are so sacred. walk with paul and mitoshin (his grandfather) so you too will understand the teaching of the sacred eagle feather. the siha tooskin knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old nakota boy.
siha tooskin knows the strength of his hair by where can you find strength when someone disrespects you? and what does having strength really mean? paul wahasaypa--siha tooskin--has learned from ena (his mom) and ade (his dad) to maintain a strong mind, heart, and spirit. though starting at a new school can be hard, especially when the kids there have never experienced the values and culture of the nakota people. join paul as mitoshin (his grandfather) helps remind him how strength of character can be found in the strength of his hair. the siha tooskin knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old nakota boy.
what's in a bead? by tessa loves how her grandmother always smells of campfire stories. mom says it's because kohkom spends her days sewing beautiful beads onto smoked hides. inspired, tessa asks kohkom to teach her beading, but first she must listen and learn about the many stories held in a bead.a celebration of cree craftsmanship, language, and learning. the loving exchange of knowledge between tessa and her kohkom will be familiar to many children. readers will learn that different indigenous communities have different beadwork techniques, and that this traditional art form is alive and thriving today.
all the stars in the sky by the heavens -- the sun, the stars, and the moon -- have inspired, intrigued, and mystified us from the beginning of time. we've always searched for ways to comprehend their beauty and their meaning. mohawk artist and author c. j. taylor has drawn from first nations legends from across north america to present a fascinating collection of stories inspired by the night skies. the legends -- salish, onondaga, blackfoot, netsilik (inuit), wasco, ojibwa, and cherokee -- are by turns funny, beautiful, tragic, and frightening, but each one is infused with a sense of awe. from the ojibwa legend of the great hunter, white hawk, and his love for an unattainable maiden, or the salish legend of a magical lake that is threatened when human beings turn greedy and lose their respect for its gifts and for the sun's power, to the delightful cherokee legend of grandmother spider who brought light to the world, this is an important collection that is enhanced by taylor's glorious paintings.
a day with yayah by text is primarily in english with some words in nłe?kepmxcin (also known as ntlakyapamuk). includes a glossary at the end of book. on an outing in nicola valley, british columbia, a native american family forages for herbs and mushrooms while the grandmother passes down her language and knowledge to her young grandchildren. includes glossary.
the seventh direction by in this enlightening legend shared by lakota elder kevin locke, wakhan thanka (the great spirit) created the entire world in seven days; leaving the most precious creation for last. in order to protect this precious creation, wakhan thanka needed to hide it where it would always be safe and turned to our animal relatives for help. together, they found the perfect place. do you know where they chose?
thirteen moons on turtle's back by in many native american cultures it is believed that the 13 scales on turtle's shell stand for the 13 cycles of the moon, each with its own name and a story that relates to the changing seasons.
turtle island: the story of north america's first people by call number: available in print and onlineunlike most books that chronicle the history of native peoples beginning with the arrival of europeans in 1492, this book goes back to the ice age to give young readers a glimpse of what life was like pre-contact. the title, turtle island, refers to a native myth that explains how north and central america were formed on the back of a turtle. based on archeological finds and scientific research, we now have a clearer picture of how the indigenous people lived. using that knowledge, the authors take the reader back as far as 14,000 years ago to imagine moments in time. a wide variety of topics are featured, from the animals that came and disappeared over time, to what people ate, how they expressed themselves through art, and how they adapted to their surroundings. the importance of story-telling among the native peoples is always present to shed light on how they explained their world. the end of the book takes us to modern times when the story of the native peoples is both tragic and hopeful.
amik loves school: a story of wisdom (seven teaching stories) by call number: ed lib easy verpart of series, "seven teaching stories". also includes: the first day of school-a story of courage; the just right gift-a story of love; kode's quest(ion)-a story of respect; misaabe's stories-a story of honesty; singing sisters-a story of humility; what is truth, betsy?-a story of truth.
as long as the rivers flow by describes the summer of larry loyie with his family before he is forcibly taken to a government-sponsored residential school.
beyond the orange shirt story by beyond the orange shirt story is a unique collection of truths, as told by phyllis webstad's family and others, that will give readers an up-close look at what life was like before, during, and after their residential school experiences. in this book, survivors and intergenerational survivors share their stories authentically and in their own words. phyllis webstad is a residential school survivor and founder of the orange shirt day movement. phyllis has carefully selected stories to help canadians educate themselves and gain a deeper understanding of the impacts of the residential school system. readers of this book will become more aware of a number of challenges faced by many indigenous peoples in canada. with this awareness comes learning and unlearning, understanding, acceptance, and change. phyllis's hope is that all canadians honour the lives and experiences of survivors and their families as we go beyond the orange shirt story.
the education of augie merasty by call number: available in print and onlinethis memoir offers a courageous and intimate chronicle of life in a residential school.
fatty legs by call number: available print and online"when margaret pokiak was very young she traveled with her father from her home in the high arctic to aklavik. the inuit girl was mesmerized by what she saw there--strange dark-cloaked nuns and pale-skinned priests who had journeyed from far-off lands. margaret knew they held the key to the greatest of the outsiders mysteries--reading"-back cover.
ga's / the train by the dual-language edition, in english and mi'gmaq, of the silver birch express-nominated title, the train. ashley meets her great-uncle by the old train tracks near their community in nova scotia. ashley sees his sadness, and uncle tells her of the day years ago when he and the other children from their community were told to board the train before being taken to residential school where their lives were changed forever. they weren't allowed to speak mi'gmaq and were punished if they did. there was no one to give them love and hugs and comfort. uncle also tells ashley how happy she and her sister make him. they are what give him hope. ashley promises to wait with her uncle by the train tracks, in remembrance of what was lost.
gaawin gindaaswin ndaawsii = i am not a number by anishinaabemowin - nbisiing dialect (roman alphabet) and english
when eight-year-old irene is removed from her first nations family to live in a residential school she is confused, frightened, and terribly homesick. she tries to remember who she is and where she came from, despite the efforts of the nuns who are in charge at the school and who tell her that she is not to use her own name but instead use the number they have assigned to her. when she goes home for summer holidays, irene's parents decide never to send her and her brothers away again. but where will they hide? and what will happen when her parents disobey the law? based on the life of co-author jenny kay dupuis' grandmother.
i am not a number by when irene is removed from her first nations family to live in a residential school, she is confused, frightened and terribly homesick. she tries to remember who she is and where she came from despite being told to do otherwise. when she goes home for summer holidays, her parents decide never to send her away again, but where will she hide and what will happen when her parents disobey the law?
i lost my talk by rita joe's powerful poem is presented anew in this children's picture book with illustrations from pauline young. a story of recovering what was lost in residential school, i lost my talk will raise conversation about language as a vehicle for truth and reconciliation. published simultaneously with the companion book i'm finding my talk. i lost my talk the talk you took away when i was a little girl at shubenacadie school. one of rita joe's most influential poems, "i lost my talk" tells the revered mi'kmaw elder's childhood story of losing her language while a resident of the residential school in shubenacadie, nova scotia. an often quoted piece in this era of truth and reconciliation, joe's powerful words explore and celebrate the survival of mi'kmaw culture and language despite its attempted eradication. a companion book to the simultaneously published i'm finding my talk by rebecca thomas, i lost my talk is a necessary reminder of a dark chapter in canada's history, a powerful reading experience, and an effective teaching tool for young readers of all cultures and backgrounds. includes a biography of rita joe and striking colour illustrations by mi'kmaw artist pauline young.
muinji'j asks why: the story of the mi'kmaq and the shubenacadie residential school by an educational and heartfelt retelling of the story of the mi'kmaq and their traditional lands, mi'kma'ki, for young readers, focused on the generational traumas of the indian residential school system. "the story of the mi'kmaw people is one that very few truly know, ladybug. even fewer understand what happened at the residential schools. it is a hard story to tell, but you must know the truth. sit and i will tell you the story." when seven-year-old muinji'j comes home from school one day, her nana and papa can tell right away that she's upset. her teacher has been speaking about the residential schools. unlike most of her fellow 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , muinji'j has always known about the residential schools. but what she doesn't understand is why the schools existed and why children would have died there. nana and papa take muinji'j aside and tell her the whole story, from the beginning. they help her understand all of the decisions that were made for the mi'kmaq, not with the mi'kmaq, and how those decisions hurt her people. they tell her the story of her people before their traditional ways were made illegal, before they were separated and sent to reservations, before their words, their beliefs, and eventually, their children, were taken from them. a poignant, honest, and necessary book featuring brilliant artwork from mi'kmaw artist zeta paul and words inspired by muinji'j maceachern's true story, muinji'j asks why will inspire conversation, understanding, and allyship for readers of all ages.my name is seepeetza by
call number: available in print and onlinewhen she is six years old, seepeetza is sent to spend several years at an indian residential school in the interior of british columbia.
not my girl by call number: available print and onlinetwo years ago, margaret left her arctic home for the outsiders' school. now she has returned and can barely contain her excitement as she rushes towards her waiting family -- but her mother stands still as a stone. this strange, skinny child, with her hair cropped short, can't be her daughter. "not my girl!" she says angrily. margaret's years at school have changed her. now ten years old, she has forgotten her language and the skills to hunt and fish. she can't even stomach her mother's food. her only comfort is in the books she learned to read at school. adapted from "a strange at home" and a sequel to "when i was eight".
the orange shirt story by when phyllis webstad (nee jack) turned six, she went to st. joseph's indian residential school for the first time. on her first day at school, she wore a shiney orange shirt that her granny had bought for her. when she got to the school, it was taken away from her and never returned. this is the story of phyllis's orange shirt. it is also the story of orange shirt day, an important day of remembrance for all canadians.
poppa and his drum: a heartwarming story of truth and reconciliation by "after moving from an all-french indigenous community to the english community of st. george’s when he was a little boy, poppa’s life as a young man was very sad. he was treated badly by his schoolteachers and some other children in the town. years later, when his grandson wants to bring him into school to play his drum for the class, poppa is nervous but goes anyway. he is relieved to see he is welcomed and even encouraged to share his knowledge of the traditions and customs of his mi’kmaw culture. thankfully, times have changed from poppa’s generation, and he is pleased to have reconciled with the bad experiences he had when he went to school. indeed, there is strength and wisdom in reconciliation!"-- provided by publisher.
secret path by call number: (secret path film is available through curio.ca)secret path is a ten song album by gord downie with a graphic novel by illustrator jeff lemire that tells the story of chanie “charlie” wenjack, a twelve-year-old boy who died in flight from the cecilia jeffrey indian residential school fifty years ago.
chanie, misnamed charlie by his teachers, was a young boy who died on october 22, 1966, walking the railroad tracks, trying to escape from the cecilia jeffrey indian residential school to return home. chanie’s home was 400 miles away. he didn’t know that. he didn’t know where it was, nor how to find it, but, like so many kids—more than anyone will be able to imagine—he tried. chanie’s story is canada’s story. we are not the country we thought we were. history will be re-written. we are all accountable. secret path acknowledges a dark part of canada’s history—the long suppressed mistreatment of indigenous children and families by the residential school system—with the hope of starting our country on a road to reconciliation. every year as we remember chanie wenjack, the hope for secret path is that it educates all canadians young and old on this omitted part of our history, urging our entire nation to play an active role in the preservation of indigenous lives and culture in canada -- publisher's website.
the secret pocket by captures the sympathy of readers and holds their attention...an age-appropriate telling by an indigenous creative team of a tragic historical period."--school library journal, starred review the true story of how indigenous girls at a residential school sewed secret pockets into their dresses to hide food and survive. mary was four years old when she was first taken away to the lejac indian residential school. it was far away from her home and family. always hungry and cold, there was little comfort for young mary. speaking dakelh was forbidden and the nuns and priest were always watching, ready to punish. mary and the other girls had a genius idea: drawing on the knowledge from their mothers, aunts and grandmothers who were all master sewers, the girls would sew hidden pockets in their clothes to hide food. they secretly gathered materials and sewed at nighttime, then used their pockets to hide apples, carrots and pieces of bread to share with the younger girls. based on the author's mother's experience at residential school, the secret pocket is a story of survival and resilience in the face of genocide and cruelty. but it's also a celebration of quiet resistance to the injustice of residential schools and how the sewing skills passed down through generations of indigenous women gave these girls a future, stitch by stitch.
shi-shi-etko by call number: available in print and online"in just four days young shi-shi-etko will have to leave her family and all that she knows to attend residential school. she spends her last days at home treasuring the beauty of her world - the dancing sunlight, the tall grass, each shiny rock, the tadpoles in the creek, her grandfather's paddle song. her mother, father and grandmother, each in turn, share valuable teachings that they want her to remember. and so shi-shi-etko carefully gathers her memories for safekeeping."--publisher's description.
shin-chi's canoe by when they arrive at school, shi-shi-etko reminds shinchi, her six-year-old brother, that they can only use their english names and that they can't speak to each other. for shinchi, life becomes an endless cycle of church mass, school, and work, punctuated by skimpy meals. he finds solace at the river, clutching a tiny cedar canoe, a gift from his father, and dreaming of the day when the salmon return to the river — a sign that it’s almost time to return home. this poignant story about a devastating chapter in first nations history is told at a child’s level of understanding.
stolen words by the story of the beautiful relationship between a little girl and her grandfather. when she asks her grandfather how to say something in his language - cree - he admits that his language was stolen from him when he was a boy. the little girl then sets out to help her grandfather find his language again. this sensitive and warmly illustrated picture book explores the intergenerational impact of the residential school system that separated young indigenous children from their families. the story recognizes the pain of those whose culture and language were taken from them, how that pain is passed down, and how healing can also be shared.
a stranger at home by call number: available in print and onlinelooks at the experiences of a young inuit girl returning from a residential religious school, where she is not recognized by her mother and is seen as an outsider. a sequel to "fatty legs".
sugar falls by call number: available in print and onlinea school assignment to interview a residential school survivor leads daniel to betsy, his friend's grandmother, who tells him her story. abandoned as a young child, betsy was soon adopted into a loving family. a few short years later, at the age of 8, everything changed. betsy was taken away to a residential school. there she was forced to endure abuse and indignity, but she remembers her fathers words - words that gave her the resilience, strength, and determination to survive.
these are my words by violet pesheens is struggling to adjust to her new life at residential school. she misses her grandma; she has run-ins with cree girls; at her "white" school, everyone just stares; and everything she brought has been taken from her, including her name-she is now just a number. but worst of all, she has a fear. a fear of forgetting the things she treasures most: her anishnabe language; the names of those she knew before; and her traditional customs. a fear of forgetting who she was. her notebook is the one place she can record all of her worries, and heartbreaks, and memories. and maybe, just maybe there will be hope at the end of the tunnel.
when i was eight by call number: available in print and onlinean adaptation of margaret pokiak-fenton's book, fatty legs. margaret and her daughter in law christy jordan-fenton have adapted margaret's childhood story about her life in a residential school when she was a child.
when we were alone by "when a young girl helps tend to her grandmother's garden, she begins to notice things that make her curious. why does her grandmother have long, braided hair and beautifully colored clothing? why does she speak another language and spend so much time with her family? as she asks her grandmother about these things, she is told about life in a residential school a long time ago, where all of these things were taken away. when we were alone is a story about a difficult time in history, and, ultimately, one of empowerment and strength."--provided by publisher.
alex shares his wampum belt by
alex shares his wampum belt, explains what wampum belts are and their significance with respect to treaties.
"the language used by crawford, who is a citizen of m’chigeeng first nation, is easily understood by children. this helps them to understand the lesson being taught and its importance and relevance to their lives. this is just one facet that makes these books an excellent tool for any elementary classroom."--anishinabek news.
dakota talks about treaties by dakota talks about treaties, explains what treaties are and their importance. these stories are meant to be read aloud by teachers to their classes at the elementary school level. "the language used by crawford, who is a citizen of m’chigeeng first nation, is easily understood by children. this helps them to understand the lesson being taught and its importance and relevance to their lives. this is just one facet that makes these books an excellent tool for any elementary classroom."--anishinabek news.
treaties by "indigenous peoples have played an influential role in canadian history and continue to do so today. from the past and into the future, treaties reveals the challenges indigenous peoples face while negotiating treaties with governments over the use of their land."-- provided by publisher.
treaty words: for as long as the rivers flow by call number: available both in print and onlinethe first treaty that was made was between the earth and the sky. it was an agreement to work together. we build all of our treaties on that original treaty. on the banks of the river that have been mishomis's home his whole life, he teaches his granddaughter to listen--to hear both the sounds and the silences, and so to learn her place in creation. most importantly, he teaches her about treaties--the bonds of reciprocity and renewal that endure for as long as the sun shines, the grass grows, and the rivers flow. accompanied by beautiful illustrations by luke swinson and an author's note at the end, aimée craft affirms the importance of understanding an indigenous perspective on treaties in this evocative book that is essential for readers of all ages.
we are all treaty people by this book explains the history of the anishinaabeg, or anishinabek nations. the nations of ojibwa, chippewa, odawa, mississauga, potawatomi, algonquin, and delaware peoples are described. this book gives the history of the culture, values, co-existence, seven years war, treaties, oka, and present day events. first nations, inuit and metis content and perspectivies. this resource supports the "teaching of treaties in the classroom"
we are all treaty people (treaty tales #3) by "this beautifully illustrated children?s book is the third and final instalment of treaty tales, an original trilogy that makes learning about the treaties and their history fun and engaging. join neepin and her kookoo around the campfire in we are all treaty people, and hear a story about the modern-day significance of the treaties for all those living in canada. maybe even become inspired, like neepin, to take up the first nations storytelling tradition."-- publisher's website.
