omni search tips
all books (print or ebook), can be found by searching omni (advanced search). a complete search guide for using omni is available here.
enter your search words in the main search box. you can put quotation marks around a phrase and enter different concepts in different search boxes.
results are displayed using a relevancy ranking, but you can change this to display your results by newest date first. change the “sort by” option to “date - newest”
to limit your search results you can use the limiters on the left side of your search results screen.
a few tips to filter your results:
- to limit your search to online, under “availability” select the “available online” filter.
- you can limit these results further by selecting a “resource type”. for example, if you are interested in an ebook, you can select the “books and ebooks” filter.
- to find print books available in the education library (thunder bay campus) only, select “thunder bay education library” under the “library locations” filter
- to find books available in the education library (orillia campus) only, select “orillia education library” under the “library locations” filter
you can find books using information from the title, author name or subject keywords:
- enter one word or multiple words from title (put quotation marks to enclose phrases; use * for alternate word endings)
- for author, enter last name followed by first name or initial
- use "advanced search" for combining search words and for searching with specific information (ie title, author, subject, isbn etc)
to find books on teaching a subject:
- click on advanced search, on the right of the search box
- in the “any field” drop down box, select “subject” and enter a subject word (ie mathematics). follow your subject word with keywords study teaching (ie mathematics study teaching ; magnetism study teaching)
- you can also enter a grade level (ie mathematics study teaching elementary; mathematics study teaching middle school; mathematics study teaching secondary)
- when you find a book that is suitable for your topic, examine the subject headings, find one that best suits your topic and click for more titles.
a selection of education research titles (print & ebook)
30 essential skills for the qualitative researcher by 1. thinking like a qualitative researcher -- 2. building on quantitative research knowledge to implement qualitative research -- 3. making your qualitative project rigorous and conceptually interesting -- 4. managing difficult emotions that come up during research -- 5. working with research advisers and committees -- 6. using philosophy and theory in qualitative research -- 7. anticipating ethical issues -- 8. developing a literature map -- 9. viewing the structure of a thesis or dissertation for a qualitative study -- 10. writing a good qualitative title and abstract -- 11. writing a good introduction and opening sentence to a study -- 12. scripting a qualitative purpose statement and research questions -- 13. understanding the process of qualitative data collection -- 14. conducting a good observation -- 15. designing and administering an interview protocol -- 16. collecting data with marginalized populations -- 17. being culturally aware in global qualitative research -- 18. coding text data -- 19. coding images and pictures -- 20. developing theme passages -- 21. using a computer software program for data analysis -- 22. implementing validity checks -- 23. conducting intercoder agreement -- 24. writing in a scholarly way -- 25. writing in a qualitative way -- 26. writing reflexively -- 27. writing a good conclusion section -- 28. publishing a qualitative journal article -- 29. selecting quality criteria for a qualitative study -- 30. introducing qualitative designs.
analyzing and interpreting qualitative research by this text provides comprehensive coverage of the key methods for analyzing, interpreting, and writing up qualitative research in a single volume, and drawing on the expertise of major names in the field. covering all the steps in the process of analyzing, interpreting, and presenting findings in qualitative research, the authors utilize a consistent chapter structure that provides novice and seasoned researchers with pragmatic, "how-to" strategies. each chapter introduces the method; uses one of the authors′ own research projects as a case study of the method described; shows how the specific analytic method can be used in other types of studies; and concludes with questions and activities to prompt class discussion or personal study.
a concise introduction to mixed methods research (print & online) by "for 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 and researchers new to mixed methods, a concise introduction to mixed methods research 2e by renowned author john w. creswell provides a brief and practical introduction to mixed methods. many graduate 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 and researchers in the social, behavioral and health sciences may not have the time or resources to read long treatises or stacks of journal articles on mixed methods research. this text quickly describes the basics of setting up and conducting a study using this methodology. chapters are short and follow the process of research, from ensuring skills for conducting research, acknowledging the steps in planning a study, designing studies with increasing complexity, planning sampling strategies and integration, and writing up the results of your study. new chapters separate basic and advanced mixed methods designs for more depth, while a reorganization of chapters better align with the research process. useful templates throughout allow readers to concretely design and organize their studies. get started in mixed methods quickly with this brief primer"--provided by publisher.
crafting qualitative research questions: a prequel to design by the essence of research design is the ability to articulate your research question. the research question is the precursor to the study, and a well-crafted question encapsulates all of the design elements for that study. based on more than 20 years of conducting research, collaborating with colleagues to formulate research projects, and experience advising doctoral 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , author dr. elizabeth (betsy) a. baker forged a research design heuristic which she introduces in this book. she starts by dissecting the anatomy of a qualitative research question, outlines the role of paradigms in research design, describes strategies to use the anatomy as a design heuristic, and provides sample cases that track the decisions two researchers made while formulating a qualitative question. the book concludes with advice on how to move from the research question to the proposal. throughout, the author provides handy worksheets that readers can complete as they work on crafting their own research question.
doing educational research: overcoming challenges in practice by every educational research project has challenges and obstacles that need to be managed and overcome. this book uses real case studies employing a wide range of research methodologies and drawn from educational contexts across europe to explore these challenges offering flexible and universal guidance that you can apply to your own research. published in partnership with eera, this book is: · realistic and informed: it explores a range of perspectives on educational research, from planning to data collection to international collaboration · challenging: it integrates a holistic and critical view on the process of educational research · culturally aware: it covers a variety of research projects from different countries and encourages you to challenge dominant perspectives in education this is the first major english language textbook for postgraduate and postdoctoral education researchers that represents and explores the range of research traditions that exist throughout europe and what they mean in practice. this book is not available as a print inspection copy. to download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.
doing respectful research by "the author draws from the critical ethnography she conducted to provide concrete examples of the research process including issues related to data analysis and respectful representation. a unique feature of the book is the emphasis on advisement and the student-advisor relationship that is embedded in chapter discussions. the author addresses the complexities of the relationships that develop between 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 and advisors over time, emphasizing the role 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 can play in ensuring the relationship is productive from the beginning to the completion of their research journey. at the conclusion of each chapter there is an annotated bibliography of additional sources (e.g., articles, theses and dissertations) that provide a discussion, and/or examples of research, related to the issues addressed in the chapter. the text includes a significant amount of canadian context within the text itself and as part of the annotated bibliographies. this qualitative research text is situated within a critical, feminist postmodern framework. the book has three central organizing themes shaping the discussion of doing critical qualitative research (critical reflexivity, the distance dynamic, respectful research praxis). the role power, privilege and passion play in decisions related to what gets researched, who is positioned as researcher or participant and how data are collected, analyzed represented and publicized is embedded in the chapter discussions. the text is written for student researchers, individuals who teach and advise 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , instructors of qualitative research courses in social sciences, health and education and community members interested in qualitative methods and conducting research."-- provided by publisher.
educational research: planning, conducting, and evaluating quantitative and qualitative research by "educational research: planning, conducting, and evaluating quantitative and qualitative research offers a truly balanced, inclusive, and integrated overview of the processes involved in educational research. this text first examines the general steps in the research process and then details the procedures for conducting specific types of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods studies. direct guidance on reading research is offered throughout the text, and interactive features provide opportunities for practice.
ethics and education research by this ebook edition is 2009, newer 2014 edition available in print.
indigenous research design transnational perspectives in practice by call number: (available both in print and online)"indigenous research design is a unique collection that explores the ways researchers conceptualize and carry out projects including the approaches, ethics, methods, and impacts. with a focus on deepening our understanding of indigenous research design and the ways in which indigenous theories of research are indivisible from indigenous peoples’ lived experiences and practices, contributors from across the globe discuss how we can rethink conventional approaches to data collection. elements are discussed within qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods research according to indigenous research worldviews, self-determination, and self-development."-- provided by publisher.
interviewing: a guide to theory and practice by this book provides guidance to researchers about how to develop interview skills that align with their theoretical assumptions. connecting "theory" and "method" can be challenging for novice researchers. interviewing: a guide to theory and practice draws from, and extends, the author′s earlier 2010 book, and focuses on three interrelated issues, how researchers: theorize research interviews; examine their subject positions in relation to projects and participants; and explore the details of interview interaction to inform practice. by developing these understandings of qualitative interview practice, kathryn roulston shows how researchers can design and conduct quality research projects that draw on a wide range of interview practices to provide audience members and communities with significant findings concerning social problems.
learning in virtual worlds by in this authoritative collection, a team of international experts outline the emerging trends and developments in the use of 3d virtual worlds for teaching and learning.
the oxford handbook of qualitative research by "the oxford handbook of qualitative research presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research and is intended for 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. it provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research"-- provided by publisher.
qualitative inquiry and research design: choosing among five approaches by in the revised fourth edition of the best-selling text, john w. creswell and new co-author cheryl n. poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. preserving creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the fourth edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry.--information from publisher.
qualitative research: a guide to design and implementation by "this thoroughly revised and updated classic once again presents aguide to understanding, designing and conducting a qualitativeresearch study. the fourth edition retains the reader-friendly, jargon-free style,making the book accessible to both novice and experiencedresearchers. while the book is practical guide to design andimplementation of a qualitative research study, it also helpsreaders understand the theoretical and philosophical underpinningsof this research paradigm. drawing on the latest literature as well as both authors'experience with conducting and teaching qualitative research, thefourth edition includes new material on case study research andaction research; discussion of online data sources (video, email,skype); updated discussion of data analysis software packages anduses; new discussion of data analysis strategies, includingnarrative analysis and poetic analysis; and a section on multipleways of presenting qualitative research findings. references,examples, and quotes have all been updated throughout the book"-- provided by publisher.
research design: qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches by "this best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed method research design. for all three approaches, john w. creswell and new co-author j. david creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry"-- provided by publisher.
research methods for pedagogy by pedagogy : theoretical perspectives and methodological implications -- different pedagogies : different research methods : values into practice -- teasing out pedagogy : the art, craft and science -- researching pedagogy in early childhood settings : ethnographic, multimodal and child-centered methods -- researching pedagogy in schools : methods focused on classroom interaction -- researching the everyday and out-of-school : research methods and innovation -- pedagogy as interaction : methods for reflecting on interaction and methods using collaborative interaction -- pedagogy embodied : methods of analysis for embodied practice -- pedagogy as space : pushing methodological boundaries.
the sage handbook for research in education: pursuing ideas as the keystone of exemplary inquiry by the sage handbook for research in education: engaging ideas and enriching inquiry
pursuit of ideas at the epicenter of their research--from framing meaningful... the sage handbook for research in education: pursuing ideas as the...
the sage handbook of educational action research by this handbook presents and critiques predominant and emergent traditions of educational action research internationally. now a prominent methodology, educational action research is well suited to exploring, developing and sustaining change processes both in classrooms and whole organisations such as schools, departments of education, and many segments of universities. the handbook contains theoretical and practical based chapters by highly respected scholars whose work has been seminal in building knowledge and expertise in the field. it also contains chapters exemplifying the work of prominent practitioner and community groups working outside universities. the editors provide an introduction and conclusion, as well as an opening chapter which charts the historical development of action research and provides an analysis of its underlying theories. the handbook is organized into four sections, each beginning with a short introduction: " action research methodology: diversity of rationales and practices " professional: knowledge production, staff development, and the status of educators " personal: self-awareness, development and identity " political: popular knowledge, difference, and frameworks for change this is a key resource for scholars and graduate 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 at doctors and masters levels, as well as school leaders and administrators. susan noffke is associate professor of curriculum & instruction at the university of illinois - urbana/champaign and co-editor with r.b. stevenson of educational action research (teachers college press, 1995). she taught at the primary school level for a decade, and has led masters and doctoral level courses in action research for the past 20 years. she continues to work with many collaborative projects with schools and school districts. bridget somekh is professor of educational research at manc
the sage handbook of qualitative research by the editors and contributors address issues of social justice and examine how people's struggles can inform public issues and in turn be transformed into social policy. their writings are underpinned by a critical framework, and they are committed to addressing issues of inequality. as with previous editions, their aim is to show how the practices of qualitative research can effect change in the world in positive ways.--from publisher description.
