skip to main content
阿根廷vs墨西哥竞猜 and lu library

criminology

finding academic journal articles

to find articles in criminology, you would benefit from searching both the omni search system, and a few of our journal article databases.

on our videos and tutorials page, both the omni overview video, and the how to find journal articles via omni video, demonstrate using omni for academic journal articles.

on our omni advanced search page, you could use the "material type" filter on the right to ask omni to only show you articles (no books or other resources). if you choose either lakehead library or articles and more at the top, omni will search for articles that you can access via lakehead. after your results come up (at the bottom), you can use the "personalize" button to ask that results from certain subject areas come up to the top of your long list of results. for criminology, you would want to choose the social sciences button within "personalize".

 

 

social services abstracts, which can be found on this page, contains numerous criminology journals, including the british journal of criminology, the canadian journal of criminology and criminal justice, criminology & public policy‎, and others. 

sage journals online, found on the same page as social services abstracts, above, also contains numerous criminology journals, including feminist criminology, international review of victimology, and others.

 

you can also choose to search some of our multidisciplinary journal article databases. these are "article" databases that usually allow you to run a more precise search, and get more accurate results, than is possible in omni. 

for criminology, the following databases on the above page would be useful:

  • canadian business and current affairs / cbca (has canadian content)
  • jstor
  • proquest search (which will search cbca mentioned above, along with other proquest databases)
  • scholars portal journals
  • web of science

while you will find some overlap when you search different databases (i.e. the same articles appearing in different databases), you will also stumble across articles that only web of science, or jstor (for example) might have - so it is always worthwhile to check as many databases as possible.