northern studies: northern canada/ circumpolar north

the university of the arctic (uarctic) is a cooperative network of universities, colleges, research institutes and other organizations concerned with education and research in and about the north.

the arctic research consortium of the united states (arcus) has been connecting arctic research and education since 1988. they bridge arctic research across organizations, disciplines, geographies, sectors, knowledge systems, and cultures.

the arctic portal is a comprehensive gateway to arctic information and data on the internet.

the institute's mandate is to advance the study of the arctic through the natural and social sciences, the arts and humanities and to acquire, preserve and disseminate information on physical, environmental and social conditions in the north.

aurora research institute is the research division of aurora college and is responsible for licensing, conducting and coordinating research in accordance with the nwt scientists act.

ualberta north’s mandate is based on the university’s northern strategy. it includes strengthening and enlarging the university’s community of northern/circumpolar researchers; strengthening relationships with northern partners, including governments, colleges, and indigenous communities, as well as national and international research/educational agencies.

the institute has focused on the environmental, cultural, and political dimensions of the north and the critical impact of climate change.

the nunavut research institute’s mandate is to develop, facilitate, and promote scientific research as a resource for the well being of people in nunavut.

the institute is a well-known and long-established centre for research into both polar regions. it is part of the university of cambridge and is a sub-department of the department of geography.

the arctic council is a high-level intergovernmental forum that addresses issues faced by the arctic governments and the indigenous people of the arctic. it has eight member countries: canada, denmark, finland, iceland, norway, russia, sweden, and the united states.

the arctic institute is an interdisciplinary, independent think tank focused on arctic policy issues.

the european union is the world’s strongest proponent of greater international efforts to fight climate change. the eu arctic policy is built around three main policy objectives:
protecting and preserving the arctic in unison with its population; promoting the sustainable use of resources; and international cooperation.

the united states arctic research commission (usarc) is an independent federal agency that provides the president and congress with reports, recommendations, and advice on arctic research.

the canadian polar commission’s mandate requires it to monitor and report to canadians on the state of knowledge of the polar regions. it also is a point of contact with the canadian and international polar scientific communities.

arcticstat is a permanent, public and independent statistical database dealing with the countries, regions and populations of the circumpolar arctic.

the arctic health website is a central source for information on diverse aspects of the arctic environment and the health of northern peoples.

the circumpolar health bibliographic database contains 6500 records describing publications about all aspects of human health in the circumpolar region.

using text and images, this site provides a glimpse of archaeological research in the canadian arctic.

arcticnet is a network of centres of excellence of canada that brings together scientists and managers in the natural, human health and social sciences with their partners from inuit organizations, northern communities, federal and provincial agencies and the private sector.

the arctic governance project joined preeminent researchers, indigenous leaders, and members of the policy community to frame the critical issues of governance in the arctic and devise innovative responses for a sustainable future.

carc is a citizens' organization dedicated to the long-term environmental and social well being of northern canada and its peoples.

grid-arendal is a centre collaborating with the united nations environment programme (unep). established in 1989 by the government of norway as a norwegian foundation, their mission is to communicate environmental information to policy-makers and facilitate environmental decision-making for change.

noaa provides arctic information and a set of reputable indicators that describe the present state of the arctic ecosystem and climate.